Wanderlust

Noun: A very strong desire or irresistible impulse to travel.

Wanderlust. I am enchanted by this word. I love the way it looks, the way it rolls off the tongue and, most of all, what it stands for. It conjures up images of VW vans, 70’s rock anthems, sunny days and hair blowing in the wind as you hit the road on an epic adventure.

Lately I found myself eyeing a turquoise Westfalia van in my neighborhood and dreaming of the freedom it embodies. My friend Sam and I ended up having a long conversation about my hippie van fascination and desire to go on a roadtrip, Jack Kerouac style, and it turned out he was feeling a bit of wanderlust too. After much discussion about where our destination should be, we decided to pile three canines and two humans into his jeep and head south to the Oregon coast.

And this is what we found…

4a

7a

“Keep close to Nature’s heart…and break clear away, once in awhile, and climb a mountain or spend a week in the woods. Wash your spirit clean.”  – John Muir

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/daily-prompt-travels-2/

13 Comments on “Wanderlust

  1. So glad you followed your desire to just go. Too often we procrastinate in all the many reasons why we shouldn’t do a thing. Oregon is beautiful and you couldn’t have picked a better spot. Your photos, as usual, are beautifully artistic and capture the true beauty. So very happy for you. You’re definitely living from the heart 😉

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Come Fly with Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Traveling | Tommia's Tablet

  4. Pingback: Photolog of the US | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Budapest And Bud Light | The Jittery Goat

  6. HOLY CRAP – I knew as soon as I saw the beach where that was – my family has a place south of Seaside on an overcliff (near the Tsunami evac route)… been on that very spot … Haystack rock and all … when the tides go out you can sometimes get around to little coves and hang out there for hours with nothing other than the bald eagles – very cool! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  7. Hanging out with the eagles sounds amazing. It’s such a beautiful spot and the seastacks are stunning, I could look at them for hours. You’re so lucky to have a place there!

  8. Pingback: Come Fly With Me | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. Pingback: Come fly with me | My Kaleidoscope

    • I’m not an Oregonian. I visited Cannon Beach for the first time this year and was blown away by the beauty of the coast and the magnificent sea stacks. What a beautiful corner of the world. I can’t wait to go back!

Leave a Reply

