Fried Green Tomatoes

The other night I watched the movie Fried Green Tomatoes for the umpteenth time. I’m a little obsessed with this film and have watched it so many times that I have all of the dramatic scenes completely memorized.

On the off chance you haven’t seen this movie, I highly recommend you watch it as soon as you possibly can. Set in the south, the story moves back and forth in time with an eclectic and uber-talented cast of characters. It will mesmerize you, make you laugh, break your heart, inspire you and have you feeling like you are sitting in an Alabama parlour, listening to a tale spun by a true, eccentric, Southern raconteur. It also contains what may possibly be my favourite scene in cinematic history.

The Scene

[Evelyn is cut off in a parking lot]

Evelyn Couch: Hey! I was waiting for that spot!

Girl #1: Face it, lady, we’re younger and faster!

[Evelyn rear-ends the other car six times]

Girl #1: What are you *@# doing?

Girl #2: Are you *@# crazy?

Evelyn Couch: Face it, girls, I’m older and I have more insurance.

Watch video clip here.

And, speaking of green tomatoes, many, many of these are hanging heavily from my vines. They look plump, juicy, delicious and not even close to turning red. Since it’s nearing the end of September and I’m getting just a tad impatient waiting for them to ripen, I scoured the internet for fried green tomato recipes and I think I found the ultimate one.

So, in honour of one of my all time favourite movies, with the all time best movie scene, Kathy Bates dealing gracefully with losing her parking spot, I proudly present:

Towanda’s Fried Green Tomatoes

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 3-4 green tomatoes sliced into 1/4 inch thick rounds
  • Olive oil for frying

Sauce Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp. ketchup
  • Pinch of cayenne, or more to taste

Cut tomatoes into thin slices, cover with flour, cornmeal, buttermilk mixture, place in hot oil and fry for 2 – 3 minutes.

While savouring the rich, delicious flavours of the fried tomatoes, close your eyes for a moment and imagine yourself in the land of southern accents, porch swings, hot, balmy nights, sweet, homemade lemonade and… Towanda.

kathy-bates-fried-green-tomatoes1

Leave a Reply

