Love Apples

love ap·ple

Noun – an old-fashioned term for a tomato.

Synonyms – tomato

I love my tomato plant. I really, really, love my tomato plant. I love the way the leaves smell like fresh, green aromatherapy. I love how sweet the little, yellow flowers look before they morph into baby tomatoes. I love how I never put a stake in it and it is turning into a clinging vine, with stalks and leaves taking over one entire side of my balcony railing. I love watching the rows of tiny, bright green globes turn into juicy, red mature tomatoes. I love how there are currently over fifty “love apples” growing on it. I love how my plant has proven wrong everyone who said I couldn’t grow tomatoes on a Northeast balcony. Yes, I love everything about my tomato plant.

Now, it’s time to share the harvest of my prized plant. So I asked Chef Pedro, my advisor on all things food related, for his best, most kick-ass salsa recipe and here it is:

LOVE APPLE SALSA

  • 40 cherry tomatoes, from the balcony garden ( or 4 regular tomatoes)
  • ¼ med. red onion, finely diced
  • 1 med yellow pepper finely diced
  • ½ squeeze fresh lime juice
  • 2 Tbs. fresh cilantro
  • ¼ tsp. chipotle chili powder
  • I tsp. fresh garlic, diced
  • a few pinches sea salt
  • Fresh pepper

Add tortilla chips, a couple of friends, margaritas and you have a perfect Friday night!

4 Comments on “Love Apples

    • Thanks! I can’t remember what kind of tomatoes they are. I bought the plant last June at the Farmer’s Market. Whatever they are, they’re really delicious 🙂

      • I love these. Simply picking them off the vine and eating them raw is deliciousness in itself. I can only imagine them in a salsa.

Leave a Reply

