Yoga + Nature = Bliss

The title of this post has been my epic discovery of the summer and, because of this discovery, I’ve been busy doing as much yoga as I can in our glorious natural world.

The combined spirituality of yoga and nature is awesomely powerful and often during outdoor classes something will ping in my brain, causing me to cry big, detoxifying tears. This can be as intense as old grief surfacing or as simple as feeling the overwhelming happiness of being exactly where I am in that moment. It’s been a beautiful journey and I’m more than a little concerned about adjusting to the indoors once the autumn rain comes.

The other day, on an adventure walk in the woods, my dog and I raced along a maze of trails to a lily pad covered lake hidden in the forest. The water was sparkling in the sunlight and alive with fish, frogs, ducks and dragonflies. A deserted dock at the end of the lake seemed to be waiting for someone to turn it into a yoga platform, so I obliged. I breathed in the fresh, green scent of the forest and focused all of my thoughts on the sea of perfect, pink lilies at my feet.

Yoga + Nature = Bliss

lunch and beaver lake 050

Say not, “I have found the truth,” but rather, ”I have found a truth.” Say not, “I have found the path of the soul.” Say rather, “I have met the soul walking upon my path.” For the soul walks upon all paths… The soul unfolds itself, like a lotus of countless petals. – Kahlil Gibran

lunch and beaver lake 045

lunch and beaver lake 056

4 Comments on “Yoga + Nature = Bliss

  1. yoga & nature … it’s a double whammy healing. love it. thank you for the spectacular pictures, poetic prose, and beautiful insights.

Leave a Reply

