Gorilla Food

10Going down the steps to Gorilla Food is a bit like entering another world. A beautiful, mellow, healing world where the fragrant scents of mango and papaya greet you as you walk through the door. My happy, healthy, hippie oasis in the middle of the city.

As I perched on my favourite stool beside the window the other day, I couldn’t help but notice how many obese, unhealthy looking people walked by. If there ever was a time for a food revolution, it is now! I recently read how the giants of the food industry are messing with the processed food we eat in ways that are truly outrageous and seriously addictive (see CBC News and New York Times). We all have so much power over our health and vitality with the food choices we make but, unfortunately I don’t think the average person realizes this. It’s time to really educate ourselves on where our food comes from, what exactly is in it and to take a long, hard look at factory farming practices. Since we literally are what we eat, this is the most important thing we can possibly do to improve our lives and overall health.

Study after study shows that an organic, plant based diet delivers the most optimal nutrition possible and eateries like Gorilla have this in spades, serving the quintessential “slow food” that nourishes our bodies, our souls and our minds.

If your diet is in need of a little makeover, try adding a few raw, vegan items. I guarantee you’ll be amazed!

One Comment on “Gorilla Food

  1. This reminds me of a place in Chicago down the street from where I used to live. They aren’t strictly a raw/vegan restaurant. They served Buffalo Chili, my favorite! And their salads are so yummy. I can’t remember the name but it’s one of those places that you just want to curl up in the corner and read a book. I should take a trip to Chicago and visit there soon 🙂

    Also, thanks for liking my post “Home Spa Saturday: DIY Face Scrub” http://bit.ly/14BvPAb. I look forward to reading more from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

