Retreat

My aching shoulder muscles, clenched teeth and disrupted sleep have been telling me that it was time to flee the city for a few days so I decided to peruse the internet and find a  few options for a quick escape from my busy city life. Since I’ve never been to Galiano and it’s only an hour away from Vancouver, it was the obvious choice for an easy, hassle free retreat. I hopped on the Galiano Island ferry and an hour later landed on a laid back, nature-lovin’ paradise.

My home away from home for the weekend was the gorgeous Galliano Inn. It was overlooking the Harbour and a peaceful, tranquil Garden of Eden. The Inn has a perfect layout with every room facing the ocean. Morning coffee was drank while lounging on a lawn chair, watching the ferries sail in and out and in the evening, I sat by the fireplace with a glass of red wine and watched the sunset. Bliss.

Beautiful hikes are everywhere and yoga classes are available in a round, garden room with instructor Kasumi.

Kasumi teaches a gentle hatha yoga and has a beautiful soothing voice. So soothing that one of my classmates fell asleep and started snoring part way through our practice. True yogic relaxation!

http://www.galianoinn.com/site/the-spa/yoga-meditation-and-holistic-healing.html

At night, after the sunset, I would sit on the lawn by the ocean and listen to the stillness. The sound of pure silence. It was such a joy and a relief. In my city apartment there is always some kind of background noise and to hear total quiet felt like pure zen peace.

It’s necessary, I think, to occasionally leave the hustle and bustle of the city and get in touch with yourself, your soul and the gentle quietness of nature. Galiano was the wild paradise that gave me my equilibrium back.

Take  a course in good water and air; and in the eternal youth of Nature you may renew  your own. Go quietly, alone; no harm will befall you. – John Muir

Leave a Reply

